Texas Education Agency

Schools began using Opportunity Culture® in:



For more information, visit these district websites:




The Texas Education Agency (TEA) made Texas the first state to support multiple districts in creating an Opportunity Culture®. The Big Spring Independent School District, an eight-campus district in west Texas, began implementation of their new school models in the 2015–16 school year, Harlandale Independent School District began implementation in the 2016–17 school year, and Spring Branch, Mineral Wells, and South San Antonio began implementing in the 2017–18 school year.

This work came in the third year of the TEA’s Creating Turnaround Educator Pipelines (CTEP) project, which focused on identifying and supporting turnaround efforts across the state.

Participating Districts:

  • Big Spring ISD
  • Harlandale ISD
  • Mineral Wells ISD
  • South San Antonio ISD
  • Spring Branch ISD